EF #5 BEC: We Chat, We Learn, We Inspire

I love learning English, and I have to deal with this language every day at work.  I have learned English since I was a kid. However, my passion to this language is not equal to my skill in using the language fluently.

As you read in my page “care to know me”, I wrote there, that one of my purposes of having this blog is to enhance my English writing skill. My grammar is getting worse and worse each day, and I realize during  these past 10 years, I only use the very simple English (Of course, because I work with little children). Sometimes my accent also got influenced by Singlish (Singaporean-English), to make it even worse and worse, I am influenced too of using the INDLISH (Indonesia-English). LOL 😀

Hence, I need a place to practice my English speaking and writing skills. Through blogging, at first I planned to write all the journals in English, but I gave up and I made a new blog address (this blog) and mixed them all here.

But, as we all know that writing In our first language is more easy, relax and free, it causes a tendency for me to write more in Bahasa Indonesia rather than in English. I wrote my thesis for my master degree with English and I almost gave up on it.  Do you know what was one of the decision that I regret the most? Yes, taking my master degree. Why  I said so? I will tell you later in my other post. But one thing for sure, my English skill is getting worse every day and now I realize that I need a place, a community that will help me to enhance and learn more about using this language correctly.

A month ago, I read Nita’s comment on Dani’s writing challenge about our readiness in facing AFTA and Ryan joined the chat too. Well, suddenly I saw that the three of them decided to form a group to learn English. And here it is, BEC has born! Blog English Club, Ladies and Gentleman!!!!.This is our 5th week and all what we need to do is to be consistent. Yes, to be consistent in doing this English Friday Project!

I joined this group from the very beginning, and I am proud to say that this BEC is one of the coolest group I have ever joined. SO, WHAT’S BEC FOR ME? Here are my answers:

-A place where I can learn and recall all the lessons that I have learned during my college time long time ago.

– A place to practice my English Skills. New vocabularies and lots of knowledge I gain from this group.

-A place to chit-chat in English and sometimes a place to ask some information related to books, movies, and recipes.A place to inspire each other. Ahhhh I love you all BEC members.

If I can simplify the answers above, I then remember about my school’s motto. It says :”WE TEACH, WE CARE, WE INSPIRE”. But here in BEC, I definitely say that in this group :

WE CHAT, WE LEARN, WE INSPIRE 

yeayyyyy! BRAVO BEC!!!!!

🙂

xoxo,

joeyz

bec

57 thoughts on “EF #5 BEC: We Chat, We Learn, We Inspire

  1. Bahasa inggrisnya ga bagus aja begini Kak, gimana kaloo bagus hahahaa…. Emang makin oneng ya kalo bahasa ga dipake, makin lupa. Paraahhh 😦

  2. The first time for me to know INDLISH… :))
    How about JAVLISH – javanese english with medok style. I know nthere must be so hard to ngget out from nthe old habits. Wkwkwk…

    • Yes, you missed a lot. As I miss reading your journals a lot too. Manah postingan blabbering ala2 Mey? Hahahahaha…

      Yes of course you can join Mey…If you wanna join, you can click on the link in my post above Mey. At the same time I will also tell one of the admin (Dani, Nita, or Ryan)

  3. What a quote, and I cannot say that your quote isn’t true. We do chatting, we do learning and as the very result, yes, we do inspiring.
    I hope BEC, as well as your writings, won’t stop inspiring readers :))
    Keep writing!

  4. Aaaaw. Thank you Jo. Indeed BEC now become a home for me to practice my english. Moreover after I moved from a company using English in daily conversations.

    • You are most welcome Dan :)))
      Now I am motivated by the members to (including u) to read more books in English too Dan. Because that is one way too in acquiring the language fluently :)))

      Thank you admins!

  5. “My passion to this language is not equal to my skill in using the language fluently.” it’s very me, Kak. Yeah, hopefully we can improve our English more through BEC. Nice to know you, Kak Jo 🙂

  6. krn bahasa ibu kita bukan bhs ingg, jadi susah klo gak diasah, makin lama makin lupa.. indlish.. aku suka istilah ini hahahaha.. org seringnya sebut singlish, jarang sebut indlish hehe.. btw.. motto we chat, we learn, we inspire cocok tuh buat motto bec jg.. #eh hihihihi…

    • Yes true mbak. Mesti ada tempat atau komunitas tempat kita berlatih. This BEC is one of the answer.

      Hahahaha Indlish kok sounds aneh yaaa..tp gpp lah yes? :)))))

      Indeed..kan we chat, trus we learn..nah baru deh we inspire. Semoga bisa konsisten

  7. Indlish…in my opinion, it is a kind of English accent that has several characteristics, one of them is a clear ‘r’ sound like in Indonesian :D. I often speak Indlish, too 😀
    Indeed, BEC is inspiring. Love your motto, Mba Jo :D.

  8. Wow…Amazing BEC. Saya kira BEC sudah lama berdiri, karena member2 dan post2 selalu “hidup”, baik dari topik, gaya bicara, obrolan2 kalian, seru banget.
    Dalam kehidupan sehari-hari, kadang-kadang (*baca : sering), kita mencampurkan bahasa percakapan dengan sedikit2 bahasa Inggris. Tapi kalau sudah disuruh ngomong kalimat puanjaaang dan lengkap pakai bahasa Inggris semua, langsung deh terkagok-kagok, hehe…
    Sesuai judul postingan mak joey, dengan berkomentar disini, saya berharap juga bisa ikutan chat, learn, and inspired by you. Thank you for such a nice posting (^_^)v

Leave a Reply

