EF #7 : The Unforgettable Childhood Memory

 

That little girl reminds me of so many things

That little girl reminds me of so many things. Living a childhood life happily and surrounded by breathtaking view everyday.

Running with barefoot,

picking up beautiful flowers on a hill,

sitting on a big rock and staring at the stunning Toba Lake from above,

Catching butterflies and dragonflies with plastic bag,

collecting the fallen candlenut from the tree,

Eating cheap ‘bakpau’ in a traditional market,

Doing some chores without complaining,

and the most important thing is, playing, giggling, and exploring the village with friends happily…

Such a beautiful memories I got during my childhood in Sianjur Mula-Mula. It was only 1 year of my childhood spent there, but the memories will never fade away. I will always remember those precious memories to its details. Living in a very beautiful  village that surrounded by mountain and hills and the incredible Toba Lake will always be my favorite childhood memory. I was only a 9 year old kid who needed to stay temporarily there because we have family matter to be taken care of.

Last November, my husband and I were able to visit this place. Some of my close friends thought that my purpose of coming here because of Dee Lestari’s book, about my name mentioned as one of her sources in her supernova book, “Gelombang”. Sure, honestly Dee’s book has triggered me to do this trip. But, I think that is only a coincidence, because we did not really plan this trip. The truth is, I have missed this village so bad. It was eight years ago, since my last visit to this place. And I always feel amazed everytime I came and staring at this village, I can’t believe that I have spent one year of my childhood here. And I can’t help myself of not sharing one or two of my fav pictures below:

My Fav picture.....berkhayal agi di NZ

The village that surrounded by mountain and hills….the breathtaking view, isn’t it?

 

Arsam School (The biggest school in Sianjur Mula-Mula) Most probably Alfa Sagala (Ichon) studied here before :)

Arsam School (The biggest school in Sianjur Mula-Mula) Most probably Alfa Sagala (Ichon) studied here before 🙂

This writing is submitted for the 7th English Friday Challenge.
It is snap and tell a story. Sorry for showing you those pictures again, because those are beatiful pictures I have so far, plus the memory is too precious to me.

Have a nice weekend everybody (still on chinese new year holiday)

xoxo

jojo

65 thoughts on “EF #7 : The Unforgettable Childhood Memory

  1. jaman dulu masih banyak tanah lapang dan padang rumput… pohon… jadi tempat main yang asyik

    anak-anak sekarang sepertinya nggak sebahagia anak2 jaman dulu 😀

  2. Ah, the land, the view, the aura, all of them have already made me amazed so much, as much as you do, as I am so amazed with writers who have published good books, but moreover, I am more amazed with the people behind that book, people that gave the writer inspirations 🙂

    It’s such a pleasure for me to reading this. Thank you. The panoramas are indeed, splendid :))

  3. Wah, sama mbak… aku juga dulu seneng nangkepin capung. Dulu zaman kecilku capung masih banyak, kalau sekarang udah hampir nggak ada….

    Aku baru tau, ternyata Mbak jadi salah satu narasumber Dee pas nulis gelombang toh. Namanya masuk buku juga lgi. Iih keren bingits!

    • Ok, finally got ur comment. Iya sekarang capung pada kemana sih ya? lagian tanamannya udah pada ga ada juga ya? digusur ama bangunan2 yang makin padat

      Iya, norak banget kan ye…baru jadi narsum Dee aja dah norak banget ini, apalagi bisa nerbitin buku sendiri (mimpiiiiiiiii) Thank you Dit 🙂

      • Kalau Capung suka diadu-aduin sama teteh hihi jahat yaaah..

        Nangkepnya pake aspal gitu.. Aaah jaman dulu emang mengasyikkan.. kerjaan main di sawah, nyari belut sama maen di kali.. 😄😄

  4. The view is so stunning, Mbak Jo! I loved it. Even though I do not live in a town, the area where I live is progressively developing. I barely see the green hills, unless I go to the other villages that is located in the foot of Mount Merapi or Mount Singgalang.

Leave a Reply

