EF #16 : Si Mardan

Songon si Mardan i..songon si Mardan i ..na lupa mar amang..na lupa mar inang..maila pogos..maila susah ..
Here is the meaning:
(Just like Mardan who forgot his mom, who forgot his dad, felt embarassed of being poor)

That is a glimpse of a lyric from a batak song, taken from a story which entitled “Mardan”.

Mardan is a a batak version of Malin Kundang. Telling about a son who forgot his mom when got successful. My mom told me the story many times back then, and my uncle played the guitar and sang the song. I was able to memorize the lyric and sang along with him. I don’t know but this story always stuck in my head and promised myself to love and honor my parents for whatever happens. Not because I’m afraid to get cursed but because the love of our parents is everything.

This writing is a submission for EF challenge #16

17 thoughts on “EF #16 : Si Mardan

  1. Haduh, jadi kangen orang tua. Kepingin cepat mudik di bulan Juli, deh :hoho. Yap, moga-moga kita selalu berbakti pada orang tua dan tidak jadi anak durhaka ya Mbak :amin.

Leave a Reply

